Blueberry Oatmeal Cake

When you cook with love and with the right taste in your mouth, the dish will come out to be PERFECT!!

As back as my memory takes me, I have been experimenting with ingredients to make cakes. Remembering that little chef inside me, wearing a pink-red apron and detailing the creamy frostings of the cake, takes me to kitchen every time.
I married a foodie, a sweet tooth, and a true critic, who revived my passion for cooking and became my partner in crime (yea we do hold knives :P). As I share my first ever recipe here, I will try to be a little different.
THE OATMEAL CAKE
Yes, the oatmeal cake. Well.. with a little twist, gluttony wouldn’t be a sin anymore.

Ingredients:
Whole wheat flour………………..1 cup
Oats meal – powdered…………….1 cup
Milk – with fat or toned…………….½ cup
Brown sugar ………………………1 cup
Date syrup (or honey)……………..½ cup
Butter – melted / refined oil………1 cup
Baking powder…………………….2 tablespoon
Egg…………………………………1
Blueberries (can skip it)……………1 cup
Vanilla essence
A pinch of salt

Directions:
Sieve all the dry ingredients (flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, salt) together TWICE. This will mix the ingredients uniformly and add some air to the mixture.
Add milk, oil, egg, date syrup, vanilla essence into the dry ingredients and mix it well.
I generally use hand blender to mix the batter
Now add blueberries to the mixture. Gently mix the berries with the spatula.
DO NOT use a blender here. You don’t wanna see the massacre.
Preheat the oven. Prepare your pan – grease it nicely and sprinkle some flour onto it.
Bake the cake at 180 C for about 45-50 minutes.
Allow the cake to completely cool before slicing.

Some tips:
A healthier alternative is to use jaggery in place of sugar and honey. Taste would be little different.
Adding fresh cream along with the milk will keep the cake moist and give it a richer and buttery taste.
Whipping the egg separately for few minutes before adding it to the batter will make the cake lighter and softer.
Check your cake by inserting a toothpick. It should come out clean.
That’s it! Give this recipe a try.
I hope you’d like it. Let me know how was it 🙂

2017-04-02-PHOTO-00018678
2016-11-15-PHOTO-00000109

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

